Sadly, I have not happy news. It looks like this change was implemented by YouTube months back, but it was an opt-in option that we had not opted into. More recently, it became standard, no longer opt-in. We can see if there's a way to opt-out of this (to get full screen back), but the chances do not look good.
Sigh...thanks YouTube. :/